Baristanet was born in May 2004 and soon after emerged as a leader in both hyperlocal blogging and the online citizen journalism movement. Baristanet receives more than 9,000 visits a day. It has inspired local news sites in Pittsburgh, Brooklyn, New Haven, Watertown, MA and Red Bank, NJ. In March, Baristanet partnered with Montclair Kids to create Barista Kids, an indispensable guide for local parents.

The biggest contributors to the site are our readers -- their active participation has turned Baristanet into a true online community and the destination for breaking local news, airing opinionated views, and yes, poking fun at suburbia whenever possible.

TIPS To tell us about stuff going on, write to us at tips@baristanet.com.
BLOG Write your own opinion piece. baristanet.com/submit
ADS To buy a display ad on Baristanet, write to ads@baristanet.com.
CLASSIFIEDS Classifieds are self-serve, but if you have problems contact classifieds@baristanet.com.
BUSINESS If you need to reach the owners, write to partners@baristanet.com.
COMMENTS AND REGISTRATION If you having trouble commenting or want to report an inappropriate comment, write to comments@baristanet.com.
CALENDAR List your community event, free, on our self-serve calendar page. Problems? Write to calendar@baristanet.com.
SUBSCRIBE Sign up to receive Baristanet by email or Twitter here.

Advertising Rates:
Write to ads@baristanet.com for info. Click here for our ad kit.

Comment Policy:
Click here to read the Baristanet comment policy.

liz Former New York Daily News special sections editor and women's magazine contributor, Liz George is editor and co-owner of Baristanet. liz@baristanet.com
annette World traveler, urban explorer, gourmand, and venture humanist, Annette Batson has been photographing and covering local news, entertainment, and food for Baristanet since 2005. annette@baristanet.com
georgette Georgette Gilmore moved to Montclair 10 years ago with her husband and they had two very adorable daughters - The Gilmore Girls. She is co-owner and Editor-in-Chief of Barista Kids, our parenting site. She can also be found here on Baristanet writing about "grown-up" news. georgette@baristakids.com

jenn Jenn Schiffer is Baristanet's web developer and queen of the Internet. You can follow her on Twitter (@jennschiffer) and email her at jenn@baristanet.com if something here is broken. She typed this in the third-person point of view because everyone else did.
christina Christina Gillham, a former editor at Newsweek, is a writer, editor and mom of two. christina@baristanet.com
lisa Lisa Romeo is a freelance writer, manuscript editor and writing coach. She teaches creative writing at Rutgers and online, and lives in Cedar Grove with her husband and two sons. lisa@baristanet.com

dana Dana Hawkins-Simons is a versatile investigative journalist who won numerous national awards while at U.S. News & World Report, where she wrote for 13 years. She's also a singer, teacher, world traveler, language lover, wife and mom. @danahawk / dana@baristanet.com
holly Holly Korus is an illustrator, muralist, gardener, baker and mother as well as graduate from Pratt Institute. She can be seen poking her head around Baristatville shops, restaurants, garbage bins or anyplace that sparks her creativity. holly@baristanet.com
kristin Kristin Wald is a relatively recent transplant to Montclair who still can't get used to being in the car. She writes about the local area to learn about her new environment. kristin@baristanet.com

kevin Kevin Riedy, Spot On! Creative Group co-partner, is Baristanet's resident ad designer. Married daddy to a 4 & 2 year old, 100+ -year-old home restorer, has more cocktail albums than you - hopes to one day display his ephemera in a tolerable manner. kevin@spot-on-creative.net
tara Tara Williams loves meeting people and sharing their stories. Passion and curiosity are qualities she shares as a writer and public relations professional and as a mother and wife. tara@baristanet.com
martta Martta Rose Kelly, now in charge of pets coverage, lives in West Orange with her husband and chocolate Lab, Kelly, a stray who she adopted last year through the help of Baristanet. During the day, she works in health care public relations. pets@baristanet.com

brian Brian Glaser is a writer, editor, husband, dad, Maplewood-to-NYC commuter, and regular contributor to Baristanet and Barista kids.
amanda Amanda Zadroga is Baristanet's billing manager. When not having fun with spreadsheets, she is a food blogger and pastry chef-to-be in Jersey City. amanda@baristanet.com
arnold Arnold Korotkin is Baristanet's official cybrarian, a community activist, maintains a 9/11 news service and is a blogger for The Record. gadfly07424@aol.com

erica Erica Dietsche currently works in higher education communications and is a graduate student at Montclair State University. She previously worked as a staff writer at The Record. erica@baristanet.com
erika Erika Bleiberg is an adventurous spirit who loves to tell stories and find humor in unexpected places. She is a NJ certified EMT and doula and will deliver babies anywhere, anytime. erika@baristanet.com
debbie Debbie Galant, director of the NJ News Commons, was founder and former co-editor of Baristanet.

Carl Bergmanson was a co-founder of Baristanet.