Baristaville Students Receive Regional Gold Key Art Awards

BY  |  Tuesday, Jan 25, 2011 1:30pm

Millburn's talented award recipients.

Seventeen Millburn High School students and six Montclair High School students have received prestigious Regional Gold Key Awards for their outstanding artwork through The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, the 88-year-old national program that recognizes outstanding creative teenagers and offers scholarship opportunities for graduating high school seniors. The program is administered by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, for which the Montclair Art Museum (MAM) is the affiliate sponsor for the northern New Jersey region.

In total, Millburn students were recognized with 17 gold key, 14 silver key and 20 honorable mention individual awards and 2 gold key and 1 honorable mention portfolio awards. This year’s Gold Key Award recipients from Millburn are:

Emily Bary
Caroline Bencivenga
Chandler Bernstein
Chelsea Castro
Emily Draper
Hannah Flaum
Jade Gardner
Morgan Gruer
Saranya Kanagaraj
Maria Khutoretsky
Krystal Li
Emily Sefcik
Hannah Sotnick (2)
Perri Wertheimer
Wenyun Zou
Simran Malhotra (Millburn Middle School)

The Gold Key Award recipients from Montclair are:

Jordi Artigas
Greyson Bruwer
Kayla Ephros
John Lee
Savannah Strenz
Garret Steffe (Mount Hebron Middle School)

The following Montclair students received Regional Silver Key or Honorable Mention and will be honored at an awards ceremony at the Museum: Adria Spivak, Brielle Haynes, Ian Langehough, Indigo Nelson, Carly Richman, Helen Laser, Tyler Malave.

The Montclair Art Museum will exhibit a selection of these winning works of art from Thursday, February 10 to Sunday, March 6 in the Art School Arcade of the Museum.

After receiving awards locally, the work of these students will be evaluated by an esteemed panel of jurors in New York City, alongside thousands of entries from other regional affiliate programs across the country. Notable past jurors include Robert Frost, Chuck Paluhniak, Gary Panter, Elizabeth Bishop, Frank McCourt, Judy Blume, Billy Collins, Peggy Noonan, William Saroyan, KiKi Smith, Faith Ringgold, and Lesley Stahl.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards has a long list of distinguished alumni including Andy Warhol, Robert Redford, Sue Miller, Richard Avedon, Zac Posen, Joyce Carol Oates, Tom Otterness, Sylvia Plath, John Lithgow, Ned Vizzini, Abdi Farah (winner of the reality show Work of Art: The Next Great Artist), and John Baldessari, who will accept this year’s Alumni Achievement Award at a Carnegie Hall Ceremony next May.

Comments are closed.

Featured Comment

And we can get this project completed in time for Montclair's sesquicentennial when we can stick a fork into historic preservation as a public policy.

Tip, Follow, Friend, Subscribe