COVID-19 Vaccine Resources: How To Register, Reach Call Center, and Get Vaccinated

Vaccinations are under way in Essex County and Gov. Murphy, joined by Essex County Executive Joseph DiVincenzo, Jr., visited the West Orange COVID-19 vaccination center on Friday at the former KMart on Prospect Ave.

On Thursday, Gov. Murphy said every resident will be able to receive the COVID-19 Vaccine, without having to pay.

“As we continue to roll out our robust statewide vaccination program, we want to make it clear to New Jerseyans that no one will have to pay for the vaccine itself, regardless of whether or not they have health insurance coverage,” said Governor Murphy. “We strongly encourage everyone to join hundreds of thousands of their fellow New Jerseyans in preregistering to receive the vaccine and taking another step toward ending this pandemic.”

New Jersey launched Monday on its COVID-19 vaccine webpage a vaccination registration portal where residents and workers can enroll in the State’s vaccination program. Registering on the portal is a way to be added to wait list and be notified when you will be able to schedule an appointment for the vaccine.

In Essex County, vaccines are being administered at five vaccination centers. Essex County residents who are part of Group 1A, including uniformed police officers, firefighters, health care workers, are eligible to receive the vaccination now by registering at

The five locations and the municipalities assigned to each of them are as follows:

  • Essex County College, 303 University Avenue, Newark (Gym entrance on West Market Street): Newark, East Orange and Irvington.
  • Essex County Donald M. Payne, Sr. School of Technology, 498-544 West Market Street, Newark: Newark, East Orange and Irvington. (This site will be set up at a later date.)
  • Former Kmart building, 235 Prospect Avenue, West Orange: West Orange, Cedar Grove, Essex Fells, Montclair, Newark, Nutley and Verona.
  • Livingston Mall, former Sears building, 112 Eisenhower Parkway, Livingston (Entrance is in the back): Livingston, Belleville, Maplewood, Millburn, Newark, Orange and South Orange.
  • Essex County West Caldwell School of Technology, 620 Passaic Avenue, West Caldwell: West Caldwell, Bloomfield, Caldwell, Fairfield, Glen Ridge, Newark, North Caldwell and Roseland.
  • Residents of Newark will be able to make an appointment at any of the five sites because of the size of the city’s population.

Essex County has set up a call center to answer Essex COVID-19 vaccination and testing questions at 973-877-8456. Call center hours are: Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.; Saturday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Click here to sign up for Baristanet's free daily emails and news alerts.