Essex County Board of Commissioners Denounce Violence at Capitol

The Essex County Board of Commissioners unequivocally denounces the violent activities of the insurrectionists who stormed the Capitol Building in Washington, DC last Wednesday, January 6, 2021. The chain of events was horrific, despicable, and contradicts the values and ideals of democracy this Board holds dear.

“The Essex County Board of Commissioners – Pictured are (from left to right, front row) District 2 Commissioner President Wayne Richardson, Commissioner At-Large Romaine Graham, District 3 Commissioner Tyshammie L. Cooper, Commissioner At-Large Patricia Sebold, and Commissioner At-Large Brendan Gill. (From left to right, back row) District 5 Commissioner Vice President Carlos Pomares, District 4 Commissioner Leonard M. Luciano, Commissioner At-Large Rufus I. Johnson, and District 1 Commissioner Robert Mercado.. PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON”

The attempted coup was a last stand for supporters of Donald Trump to thwart Congress as they were set to confirm President-elect Joe Biden as the winner of the 2020 presidential election. Regrettably, this mob was able to breach security, successfully enter the building, ransack, and terrorize; which unfortunately resulted in multiple deaths. Ironically, this all took place the same afternoon as the Essex County Commissioner’s Swearing-In Ceremony. This added further insult, and made these actions all the more offensive and contradictory to the oaths of office invoked by the Board.

The Essex County Board of Commissioners stands firm with the results of what we believe to be a fair and impartial election. Furthermore, we pledge to uphold the Constitution of the United States and support the interests and honor of the American people at-large.

Click here to sign up for Baristanet's free daily emails and news alerts.