Bloomfield High School Athlete Is One of 39 Honored at Yogi Berra Museum & Learning Center

Gianna Faura

Little Falls, NJ – For the 10th consecutive year, the Yogi Berra Museum & Learning Center hosted student athletes from member schools of the Super Essex Conference along with their families and coaches for a celebration of the qualities that made Yogi Berra a national treasure. The 39 recipients of the 2022 Yogi Berra Museum Best Teammate Award exemplify the strength of character, sportsmanship and supportive spirit that, though often unheralded, are vital to a team’s success.

“The Best Teammate Award allows us to formally recognize young people who are embodying the positive ideals that Yogi lived by his entire life, both on and off the field,” said Eve Schaenen, the Museum’s Executive Director. “This year is particularly special for us, as it marks the 10th anniversary of our giving this award. And because of Covid, it’s the first time we’re hosting the ceremony in person since 2019. We are very grateful to Investors Foundation for their ongoing support, and to wonderful partners at the SEC for helping us make this experience possible for these 39 exceptional student athletes.”

Gianna Faura of Bloomfield High School was one of the 39 athletes honored.

The winners, selected by their respective athletic departments, enjoyed a celebratory banquet before hearing from special guest speaker Dale Berra, former Major League player and the youngest son of Hall of Famer, Yogi Berra. Berra addressed the 2022 Best Teammate Award recipients in his remarks, stating: “Some teammates are born leaders. They’re just made that way. But those people are very rare. For the rest of us mere mortals, we have to work at it. You put in the work. And if you put in the work, it will serve you now, and in the future.”

The 2022 Yogi Berra Museum Best Teammate Award Recipients:

Arts: Taylor Johnson

Barringer: Mariah Charles

Belleville: Lorenzo Tafuri

Bloomfield: Gianna Faura

Caldwell: Kelly Bambrick

Cedar Grove: Louis Cicala

Central: Shy-Nee Huntley

Columbia: Nashley Guerrier

Eagle Academy: Mlotshwa Mafu

East Orange: Jessica Felix

East Side: Carol Goncalves

Essex County Donald M. Payne Sr. Tech: Jerry Mendez

Essex County West Caldwell Tech: Stephanie Mendoza

Glen Ridge: Alex Jordan

Immaculate Conception: Tyonna Bailey

Irvington: Cynthia Kyerewaa

Livingston: Jordan Mason

Millburn: Paige McBoyle

Montclair: Kiya Lawson

Montclair Kimberley: Maria Caggiano

Mount St. Dominic: Michala O’Neill

Newark Academy: Milanis Rivas

Newark Collegiate: Amara Kelleh

Newark Lab: Samiyah Jenkins

Newark Tech: Jordyn Mallette

North Star: Jasmine Perryman

Nutley: Jill Juat

Orange: Toni Simon

Science Park: Mariana Caetano

Seton Hall Prep: Dylan Negron

Shabazz: Keyona Bailey

St. Vincent Academy: Joely Rojas

Technology: Olivia Barbas

University: Dupri Cromer

Verona: Sean Mulligan

Weequahic: Elijah Motley

West Essex: Michael Rizzo

West Orange: Sebastian DeSimone

West Side: Emmanuel Agboola

Click here to sign up for Baristanet's free daily emails and news alerts.